Potato stamps and getting creative

natchurally

Did you ever had to use a potato for a stamp. Well maybe you have in your childhood., I know I did. But I never thought I’d be making it again. My teacher proved me wrong on that and I’m actually glad for that. The method of carving a shape in a potato and use it for a stamp is fun!

potato stamp

We were giving a lot of different word couples and we had to visualize them with the potato. It’s a nice way to really think about the meaning of words in graphic design and just to simplify abstract words. Here a few examples. I’ll leave the German word on the paper but try to think about the meaning first and compare your first thoughts with the words.

stamps01

Go grab a potato, a knife and get started on your own experiments.  In case you need some inspiration: small/big…

View original post 6 more words

Leave a Reply

